Thoughts on Connectivism

Mod 4: How has your network changed the way you learn?

With the advent of Social Networks and all things Web, Web 2.0Web 3.0 I rely much more on anything other than books to convey information to me. The information has become a sort of cloud with loose connections and sometimes vague associations. Being causal has also caused me to be more lax about the reference to the source of the information, and I would say the learning is more immediate and just-in-time. With that though, it may be more fleeting and almost less important at times. As I think about it, I am concerned that it is more a “folk Knowledge”  (not to be confused with FOLKSONOMY)than academic, which to me is less formulated.

Which digital tools best facilitate learning for you?

Despite all the information flying about, the ability to read at length is still important, though I have moved from paper/print-based text to electronic text. Audio-based information provided another way to learn that I appreciate. I would rather LISTEN to a podcast than SEE a vodcast, primarily because the vodcast had not moved beyond the talking head phase. If it were interactive, it might hold more appeal for me. Other tools into play as part of preparation. In other words, I learn when I teach.

I would also add that Blogs serve to connect and (for those who post regularly) provide current information and/or thoughts on particular topics. George Seimens and Stephen Downes have recently begun a blog on Connectivism, which they talk about through Athabasca University and contains some associated words and thoughts which you can view in the Excerpt provided.

  • Synchronization: nodes/concepts aligning themselves to other agents/concepts (fireflies is a common example).
  • Information diffusion: how does information flow through a network? Which nodes slow down information flow? Which test the accuracy or trust-ability of information?

Another blog that addressed Connectivism is Michael Hanley’s blog about e-learning.

Another, though less current blog comment  by Konrad Glogowski is still relevent.

How do you learn new knowledge when you have questions?

Though this conflicts with what I have said above, I will read How To Manuals and also view vodcasts when I am learning applications. When I have questions, I Google the question and the end up on listservs/bbs/blogs/wikis where they have answered the exact or nearly exact question or problem that I have.

Published by Jean Haefner

Twitter: http://twitter.com/profhaefner

4 thoughts on “Thoughts on Connectivism

  1. More immediate = More Fleeting?

    Hello! It does seem like the knowledge based content that we can readily access via the Internet is more fleeting. We are not memorizing this trivial information, rather we are using it as a foundation for the problem-solving and critical thinking that we do. Thanks for your post!
    Lynetta

  2. Great detailed post on connectivism. What did you use to do your mind map. I tried several and couldn’t get them to save to a jpg file. I like the idea of reading blogs. I worry about the blog being scholarly and not just someone’s opinions. Does this concern you when you site it in a paper?

    1. Hi Lynetta,
      I used Inspiration 9. It’s a great program and you can download a 30 day trial version. It’s available at: http://www.inspiration.com/

      I try not to post from these sources when writing, but sometimes that is the ONLY place to get the information. I worry every time I do cite something like that. For one thing, blogs and wikis go away, and then what -no source. What about you? Do you use them in papers?
      Jean

Leave a comment